Quotes – MST3K: The Movie

Mystery Science Theater 3000: The Movie – ah, nostalgia for the days when my old worn out tape of this film was still actually working. Darn you, no longer distributed DVD! (but hey, what’s $130 for a used copy on Amazon?)

Here are some fun MST3K quotes that help remind me of the good ol’ days:

“Let’s slip away under cover of afternoon in the biggest car in the county!”

“Self-cleaning mutant. Leaves only the fresh scent of pine.”

“O.K., let’s see, Shatner, Shatner… no, it doesn’t look like he’s in this one… We’re safe.”

“Into the weenie mobile. Weenie man awaaaay!”

“Well, believe me, Mike, I calculated the odds of this succeeding versus the odds that I was doing something incredibly stupid… and I went ahead anyway.”

[dramatic music] “Normal view. Normal view! NORMAL VIEEEWWW!”

“Big men putting screwdrivers into things! Turning them! And adjusting them!”

“And if your hands were metal, that would mean something.”

– This isn’t paper. It’s some sort of metal! – No, sir, that’s paper.

For more quotes, visit IMDB, Wikiquote or, um, Mutant Reviewers from Hell (hey, I know they’ve got my attention!)

About the movie: MST3K: The Movie follows in the tradition of the cult TV show by picking a movie and then making humorous comments throughout a viewing of it. The victim for the feature film was This Island Earth, a cooky sci fi film about aliens with large foreheads from 1955 (and yes, that is the Professor from Gilligan’s Island as scientist Steve Carlson).

As an aside, my boyfriend saw This Island Earth (sans commentary) at a recent sci fi film festival in New York and said that, without the peanut gallery, it’s just, well, awful. Ah well. You still gotta feel bad for it.

This Island Earth

13 Responses to Quotes – MST3K: The Movie

  1. Cliff Burns says:

    Your quotes brought back some happy memories. MST was one of those shows that could reduce me to gales of laughter, to the extent that I could barely breathe. Just think, it was all accomplished on a shoestring budget with a couple of cheap, badly made puppets and a terrific sense of humor. I still have a couple of episodes downstairs and I bring them up to watch on occasion…they’re still a hoot after numerous viewings.

    Hopefully a new generation of fans will re-discover the show and add to its growing legend.

    Thanks for posting this…

  2. MuGo says:

    You need a DVD copy of MST3K? Well, just buy the German Version of the movie! I don’t know if Amazon Germany ships to th US but it does viceversa so maybe…

    The German Version includes the Original Dub (although the German Dub is funnier because the German Comedians who made it left not a single second without a comment) and also This Island Earth in the original English Version (and, of course, the awful German Dub). But your boyfriend’s right: It isn’t worth to waste time on that movie.

    Well, anyway, if you can manage to get a German Version, you get all this for aprox. 15 USD (round about 10 Euros) and shipping fees. That’s a lot cheaper, don’t you think so? And, even more, you can learn German by subtitles!

  3. MuGo says:

    Oh, I missed a thing: You may have another Regional Code. Better check if you can see the DVD on an American screen before buying (it should be code-free or also playable in Region 1).

  4. danielleeyre says:

    Unfortunately, I think I’ll just have to stay jealous of you for a while… my (probably poor) choice in DVD players only lets me play Region 1, and it looks like the MST3K DVD from Germany is Region 2. Thank you for the recommendation though!

    But I certainly do agree about the benefit of ordering from Amazons outside the US – I have ordered my fair share of items from Amazon.fr (including, ahem, the French audio of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban – what can I say, totally worth it to hear the word “pitiponk”).

    Ah well, German fluency will just have to wait a little while longer…

  5. Geek says:

    Does the german dvd version have forced german subs by any chace?

  6. MuGo says:

    Of course not!

    We’re able to speak more than one single language, though!^^

    No, you’re totally free from German umlaut terror. Only the nice and boring English dub, without any subtitles. Just change the settings to English without subs.

  7. […] with a dose of Albert from The Birdcage (How do you think I feel? Betrayed, bewildered…) and Mystery Science Theater 3000 (Leaves only the fresh scent of pine), so who am I to […]

  8. […] Science Theater 3000: The Movie (pretty much anything I put in my post on the film, but here are some of my favorites) Into the weenie mobile. Weenie man awaaaay! Leaves […]

  9. Noemi says:

    thx for the “Normal view. Normal view! NORMAL VIEEEWWW!” Quote!
    I was searching the name of this movie, since… I don’t know :p
    Now, next mission… Go to Germany to found the DVD :p

  10. hey man, nice blog…really like it and added it to bookmarks. keep up with good work

  11. auzcorp hotels…

    […]Quotes – MST3K: The Movie « Buttercups and Ravenwood[…]…

  12. Ideal BMI…

    […]Quotes – MST3K: The Movie « Buttercups and Ravenwood[…]…

  13. hediye says:

    hediye…

    […]Quotes – MST3K: The Movie « Buttercups and Ravenwood[…]…

Leave a Reply

